Tummy Troubles

Just a heads up: This post will cover the happenings of my stomach and bowels. If you are squeamish or have no desire to read this post, just skip. I will be back to posting more pleasant topics later.

For the past 4 days, I have been battling some serious digestive issues. It began on Saturday evening when I began to experience cramps that were eerily similar to menstrual cramps. But I knew it was not menstrual cramps because a) it was the wrong time of the month and b) they were located more in my upper stomach rather than my ovaries or lower abs (where I normally cramp).  Within an hour, I was lying on my MIL’s couch writhing in pain. I told my husband that it felt like someone was tying my stomach/intestines in knots.  After a dose of pain meds, Gas-X, two laxatives, and some Malox, I fell into a fitful slumber.

When I woke up on Sunday morning, I was extremely bloated and feeling slightly queasy.  I assumed that the previous night’s pain and the morning’s blah feeling were attributable to eating something that didn’t settle well with my stomach. More Malxo was swigged and I assumed I would be back to my normal self my mid-day.  WRONG!  By mid-day, I was in sheer agony, my entire abdominal region ached, I was in tears.  My MIL who is a nurse brought over more meds, and I was zonked out by 8:30 p.m. 

Monday morning came, and while the pain was gone, I was still bloated.  So I turned to my trusty friend goggle. I wound up at Sarah’s blog. Reading her story, I felt as though she were talking about me.  I began to wonder if I could possible have colitis.  This what my stomach looks like today.  I look as though I am several months preganant…so bloated to the point that my normal pants do not fit.  I realize now this is not how my body should be working.  So I am calling my doctor this afternoon to schedule an appointment. I am going to ask her to test my for gluten sensitivity, and I have a feeling she is going to order a colonoscopy.  In the meantime, I have made the choice to eliminate gluten from my diet. 

 

Going gluten-free is a whole new world for me. I have a lot to learn…thankfully there are a plethora of resources on the internet that can provide me the guidance I need.  I am hopeful that between the doctor and my diet changes my body will get some relief soon.

Are you gluten-free?  Any tips/advice for me as I start this journey?

One thought on “Tummy Troubles

  1. Pingback: Turning Frustration into Focus | redefiningkim

Leave a Reply

