Turning Frustration into Focus

I am not happy with my body right now. There I said it – the cat’s out of the bag. As a woman who has battled an eating disorder, I have spent years learning to love my body as is and promoting that conception to all the women in my life.  But right now, my body is not working the way it should, and it frustrates me.  The scale continues to stay at a number higher than my happy weight and that frustrates me too.

I could drown my frustrations in a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie – but I won’t.  Instead, I have used my frustrations to help me focus on how I want my body to look, feel, act.  And then I developed a plan achieve those goals.  Change does not happen overnight, getting my body back to where I want it to be will take time. However, if I work my plan and am patient, I know I will see the rewards of my efforts.  So what’s the plan?

1. A complete Physical :  I am calling my primary care physician today to schedule a complete physical. I plan on discussing with her the tummy troubles that I am experiencing as well as a few other things I have noticed regarding my body’s behavior as of late.  I fully intend to leave her office with orders for a complete thyroid blood panel and a colonoscopy.  I am hopeful that these two tests will confirm that suspicions that I have regarding my body (i.e.  low thyroid levels and colitis).

2. Food:  I am going to continue to eat gluten free. After just one day of eating GF, I noticed a spike in my energy levels and less bloating in my stomach area.  I am going to keep a small food journal where I will record what I ate and how the meal made me feel afterwards.  This journal could be insightful into determining if I am sensitive to any other foods.  I am also going to eat more.  Right now, I am eating at large breakfast around 8:30, a  small snack about 10:30, and lunch around 1:30 or 2:00.  I have noticed that while I am not hungry before 1:30, if I wait that late to eat my lunch (which is substantial) does not fill me up. I find myself wanting to snack for the rest of the afternoon and battling severe sugar cravings.  My new schedule will be as follows:

  • 6:30 a.m. – Large glass of water, piece of fruit, Greek Yogurt or GF bread
  • 8:30 a.m. – Breakfast
  • 10:30 a.m. – Morning Snack
  • 12:00 p.m. – Lunch
  • 2:00 p.m. – Snack (likely sliced veggies with humus or avocado for dipping)
  • 5:00 p.m. – Apple with smear of almond butter for pre-workout fuel
  • 7:30 p.m. – Dinner

3. Workouts: My workouts have not been as consistent as I would like them to be due to work and family scheduling conflicts. However, I have noticed that I am skipping workouts even when I could leave the office at a normal hour.  I continue to stay at work – which is only serving to increase my stress level and reduce my fitness level.  I am committing to workout 1 hour every day.  I spend an hour on Twitter, FB, or blogging each nigh, so I can devote 60 minutes to making my body stronger.  I will be following this schedule for the next 4 weeks:

Day One:  Weights and 2 mile Run

Day Two:  Aerobics Class

Day Three: Intervals

Day Four:  Weights and 2 mile Run

Day Five:  Aerobics Class

By husband and I were attempting to start Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer.  However, our schedules are just not conducive to that type of program….right now.  We have agreed to put the LiveFit Trainer on hold until mid-August when both of our schedules slow down. 

4. Stress Reduction: I have been battling a mountain of stress over the past several months. My company went live with a new computer system, I was given the lead on a major project at work, and our fiscal year-end is upon us.  All of those things combined to create a mile long to-do list for me.  To top it off, I have commitments to my family, friends, and my church.  Recently, I told a friend that I felt as though I was running in circles.  To reduce my stress, I am going to do a few different things:

  • Each day at work, I am going to create a “Top 3 To-Do List”,  this list will be the 3 things that I must get done that day.  This will help to focus my time and attention, instead of attempting to multi-task on numerous projects.  When I achieve those 3 things, I know I have had a productive day, and any other accomplishments are just bonuses!
  • I am setting a reminder on my work calendar to take breaks.  I am notorious for working 8 or 9 hours straight, eating lunch at my desk, and only leaving my office if nature calls.  This is a bad habit.  These reminders will allow me to take a few minutes every hour or so, to stretch my legs, do some deep breathing, and then go back to work refocuses.
  • Carry my gratitude journal with me.  It is easy to get caught up in the craziness of a day and the find yourself feeling frazzled.  My gratitude journal forces me to slow down and find the blessings in every moment.  When I journal, I find my stress slipping away. Unfortunately, I am out of practice with my gratitude journal, but it is something I plan to remedy.

So there you have it folks,  the things I am going to do to re-enter and refocus on my health.  How do you refocus on healthy living?  Any suggestions for me?

2 thoughts on “Turning Frustration into Focus

  1. Pingback: A Good Day | redefiningkim

Leave a Reply

