1,000 Rep Challenge & VBS Challenge

After having a good day, I was looking forward to an even better evening. My agenda included teach my aerobics class and helping to decorate my church for our annual Vacation Bible School.  I met my girls at 6:00 p.m. and after a 5 minute warm-up, we dove right into the 1,000 Rep Challenge.

The 1,000 Rep Challenge is simple – 10 reps of 10 exercises for 10 rounds.  I gave us one hour to see how many rounds we could make it thru.  Here are the exercises we used.

  1. Weighted Squats (hip-width)
  2. Jumping Jacks
  3. Tricep Dips
  4. Skater Jumps
  5. Sumo Squats with pulses
  6. Standing Leg Extension with Shoulder Press (Right side)
  7. Standing Leg Extension with Shoulder Press (Left side)
  8. Bicep Curls
  9. Dragon Crunches
  10. Pushups

We made it thru 6 rounds in an hour.  We then wrapped up class by running sprint drills.  It was great!  We all agreed that we had gotten a fantastic total body workout and would be feeling the DOMS soon.

Post workout – notice the sweaty glow?

Following the workout, my hubby, SIL, I and a few other friends got busy decorating for VBS.  VBS is a week-long event in which children attend our church from 6:00 – 9:00 p.m. every night for bible stories, music, crafts, and fellowship with one another. This year’s theme is God’s Amazing Wonders Aviation and each station is a different natural wonder.  My SIL and I are heading up the craft station which is supposed to be decorated like the Great Barrier Reef.  We spent most of our time tracing and cutting out fish from cardboard.  We planning on painting the fish bright colors, and hanging them from the center of our room.  We are going to have blue paneling covering the walls to make it feel as though we are under water.  These are a few pics that I snapped last night and I will post more once we are finished.

The decorating wrapped up around 9:00 p.m.  I came home scarfed down a chicken salad and promptly fell into bed.  All in all it was the great evening I expected it to be.

Things to talk about:  What exercises would you use for the 1,000 rep challenge?  Have you ever done a similar challenge?

Leave a Reply

