Run Night Routine

Last week, our church hosted our annual Vacation Bible School.  I was in charge of music and crafts which meant I was at church from 6:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. each night.  Those hours definitely messed with my workout schedule. I was eager to return to a normal schedule this week.

My good friend Marcy and I agreed to meet at 7:00 for a run.  I have found that evening workouts – especially runs require a little more planning and forethought.  Since I usually not home until 8:00 or 8:30 on the nights that I run, my husband and I had to create a routine that would allow the house to run smoothly while I am gone.  After much trial and error, we’ve found a system that works for us. On running nights, I come home from work and  prep the dinner ingredients, then he cooks while I am running, and then we handle the dishes together.  I have to say there is nothing better than walking in the door after a challenging workout to smell dinner cooking!

Marcy and I covered about 2.5 miles in about 30 minutes. While we did not break any speed records, we did work up a good sweat and had some great conversation to pass the time.  After our run, I completed the second workout in the Best Body Bootcamp.  Holy smokes!  My legs were shaking and burning by the last set. I foresee a major case of DOMS in my future.

On to the delicious dinner, that my hubby whipped up. Since I am following “The Skinny Rules”, I knew dinner needed to be “lean and green”.  I settled on a menu of steak, cauliflower and broccoli. I left the details up to the hubby.  He marinated the steak and then baked it in a cast iron skillet, and roasted both the cauliflower and broccoli as well.  The steak was so tender it literally melted in my mouth. The veggies had a great blend of seasoning and the roasting added an extra depth of flavor

The pictures that I snapped just don’t do this meal justice…..but here is my attempt.

 

Do you have a special routine for the evenings you workout?  How does your spouse handle your late evening workouts?

Leave a Reply

