Triple F Friday

It has been a busy week around my neck of the woods – multiple project wrapping up at work, teach aerobics twice this week, preparing for our trip to the beach, and a few church responsibilities.  And whenever my schedule gets crammed, blogging is usually the first thing to fall by the wayside. I hate it – but that is the reality. However, I am working out some strategies to be able to update the blog at least once a day. One of those strategies is to assign specific topics to certain days of the week. Out of that strategy, Tripe F Friday was born. 

Triple F Friday will showcase my favorite moment from food, fitness and family from the week. It will be a quick way to get a snapshot of what’s happening with me.  I hope you will enjoy the series and do your own Triple F post!

Food

I have started following Bob Harper’s “The Skinny Rules” this week, and Bob has many delish recipes in his book.  But the thing that I have fallen in love with is his suggestion of ricotta cheese and fresh berries as a mid-morning snack. The juicy sweetness of the berries combined with the saltness of the ricotta is divine. I often feel as though I am eating dessert. More importantly this snack is a good source of protein (from the cheese), fiber (from the berries), and healthy fats.

Family

Yesterday was Miracle Treat Day at Dairy Queens nationwide. Miracle Treat Day is a day each year, when Dairy Queen donates $1.00 for each blizzard sold to the Children’s Miracle Network. Those fund then go to support local children’s hospitals. I have been participating in Miracle Treat Day for years. Now, as a Mama, I understand the important of this day – those funds help care for babies born prematurely, born with serious illness, and to care for other critically ill children.

Therefore last night, the hubby, daughter and I went to our local store to enjoy Blizzard. Hubby went with cookie dough, Daughter chose M&M (although she wound up eating more of hubby’s than her own), and I went crazy and order the Chocolate Extreme (totally against the “The Skinny Rules” but I think Bob would make an exception for the cause).  The ice cream was great but spending time with the two people I love most in the world was even better!

Fitness

I announced on Monday that I am participating in Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. I knew the workouts that she put together would be challenged. But I seriously underestimated the challenge. I have DOMS all week as my muscles have been worked in new ways with moves I never knew existed.  I also love that Tina includes a bit of cardio everyday – after all I am a self-proclaimed cardio queen.  My favorite was the interval workouts.  Tina’s guidelines tell us to warm up for 5 minutes, then alternate intervals of 3 minutes of hard effort, with 2 minutes of recovery for 6 cycles.   That’s it – she leaves it up to each participant to choose how they do the intervals.  Here’s my interpretation:

Treadmill Interval Workout

  • Warm up: 5 minutes at 3.8 mph and 1% incline
  • Interval One:  3 mins walking at 4.0 mph and 5% incline. 2 mins walking at 3.8 mph and 0 % incline.
  • Interval Two: 3 mins jogging at 4.5 mph and 7% incline. 2 mins walking at 3.6 mph and 3% incline
  • Interval Three:  3 mins running at 5.00 mph and 9% incline. 2 mins walking at 3.8 mph and 0 % incline
  • Interval Four: 3 mins running at 5.5 mph and 7% incline. 2 mins walking at 3.5 mph  mph and 2% incline
  • Interval Five: 3 mins running at 6.0 mph and 5% incline. 2 mins walking at 3.6 mph and 0% incline
  • Interval Six: 3 mins running at 6.5 mph and 2% incline. 2 mins walking at 3.5 mph and 0% incline.
  • Cooldown:  5 minutes walk at 3.4 mph hours.
     
    This workout had me drenched in sweat by the end. I loved changing my speed and my incline – it helped to keep things interesting and made the time fly by. 
     
    What food, family or fitness moments have you loved this week?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Triple F Friday

  1. Pingback: Best Body BootCamp: Phase One Thoughts | redefiningkim

Leave a Reply

