WIAW: Experimenting in the Kitchen

Good morning everyone! I hope you are all enjoying a beautiful Wednesday wherever you might be.  Around this blog, Wednesdays mean it is time for another edition of WIAW, hosted by the wonderful Jenn at Peas and Crayons.  Each month Jenn has a different theme for the WIAW posts. This month, the theme is Sumer Staples.

But before I dive in to my list of summer staples, let’s talk about the delicious food that I have been eating lately.  As you may remember, right now I am following the meal plans from Bob Harper’s book “The Skinny Rules”.  I am loving these meal plans – as they having me eating tons of fruit, veggies, lean protein.  I find myself feeling lighter but satisfied, and my tummy has not been having as many issues as in the past.  So what exactly am I eating? Here is what a typical day looks like

Breakfast

Lunch

 

Dinner

Dinners these days are consisting of salads with lots of fresh veggies and varying protein – chicken breast, grilled steak, tuna, or other fish. 

Summer Staples

When I hear the words “summer staples”, my mind does not immediately think of food – instead it thinks about the various things that I keep in my purse/bag during the summer months. These items help to combat the heat, humidity, and make summer a little more bearable. So what I am carrying around this summer:  A small bottle of SPF 70 to help keep my fair skin from burning,  chapstick with SPF as my lips take a beating in the summer sun,  a small misting fan to keep me cool and dry when outside for long periods of time, a small pack of baby wipes and small bottle of baby powder which helps me to easily clean off the sand/sweat/etc after a day at the beach.

What have you been eating this week? What are your summer staples – food or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

