Sorting Thru the Guidelines – Approach with Caution

     When I first started my journey to a healthier me in 2007, I dutifully followed the guidelines for nutrition provided by the USDA. Then I began to read article after article about how lobbying groups were influencing those guidelines.  So I stopped, and went in search of other guidelines to follow.  I found the American Dietetic Association’s guidelines.  And once again I followed them dutifully for awhile.  Then I began participating in the 101 Days of Blogging hosted by Sarah and read day 30.

“The American Dietetic Association is sponsored by processed-food corporations and staffed by former food-company execs. Their pro-processed-food advice is often colored by that, and their calorie-counting obsessions are profoundly counterproductive.”

As soon as I read those words, I wanted to stop following all of their guidelines and find someone else’s guidelines.  Then it hit me,  no set of guidelines are perfect – they are all flawed and I have to find what works best for me.  That means reading thru the reports, the recommendations, the guidelines with a critical eye and questioning mind.  Then I test out the guidelines, see how my body responds, and move forward from that point.   Now when friends/family ask me what “diet” they should follow to get health, I tell them the diet that your body responds to.

What are your opinions on the various food guidelines available?  Do you follow a diet? 

2 thoughts on “Sorting Thru the Guidelines – Approach with Caution

    • Kelly, you make a valid point. I really detest the word diet – as it has so many negative implications. I like to think of it as finding a balanced way of eating that makes your body the happiest. For me that might mean higher protein that someone else, for some that’s not dairy, etc. Each person is unique.

Leave a Reply

