Go Easy on The Flour and Sugar

These two ingredients (combined with unhealthy industrial vegetable oils) have a starring role in most packaged foods we eat. More than any other culprit they fuel inflammation, obesity, diabetes, high cholesterol and cancer.”

I have a HUGE sweet tooth and love to satisfy my cravings with baked goods, pastries, cakes, and pies of all kinds. Unfortunately, I have come to realize that when I indulge in these treats – it starts a vicious cycle.  One piece of pie leaves me wanting to eat the whole thing … I don’t but I tend to eat more healthy foods to combat the urge. And the end result is the same, I wind up feeling overly full.

Realizing how my body reacts to flour and sugar, I have significantly limited the baked goods I consumed. I also cut back on pastas and started eating gluten-free bread.  But it was not until I started reading labels on my favorite foods, that I realized how much sugar I was still consuming.

Here are a few switches I have made to limit my sugar consumption:

  • Traded in my morning pastry for gluten-free toast with almond butter and a smashed banana.
  • Swapped my vanilla yogurt for plain Greek yogurt and fresh berries.
  • No more bottled salad dressings for me. Now I make my own or I use homemade salsa, guacamole or hummus as a “dressing”.
  • Don’t drink sugary drinks anymore. I have reduced or nearly eliminated all sweetened beverages from my diet. Did you know that a 12 ounce sweet tea has more than 30 grams of added sugar. Even sports drinks like Gatorade can put you over your daily limit in a single bottle.   I now drink plain water, or water infused with fresh fruit (love using lemons or limes). On those rare occasions when I really, really want juice, I do a 50/50 mix of juice to water.

How are you cutting back on your flour or sugar consumption?

 
2 thoughts on “Go Easy on The Flour and Sugar

Leave a Reply

