Healthier Brownies – 2 Ways

My first day back at the office after my battle with the stomach virus was a stressful one.  With only two weeks left at my current job, I am working on wrapping up several major projects, which meant yesterday was spent answering dozens of e-mails, return phone calls, catching up on tasks, all while trying to get ahead.  Normally, after a stressful day of work, I come home and do a challenging workout. However, I knew that my body still need time to rest and recover, so I opted for my second favorite stress reliever – BAKING!

I wanted to prepare bake something chocolate but that was also healthier than the normal treats I whip up when relieving stress.  I decided to prepare healthier brownies – in 2 unique ways.  First up, Hungry Girl’s Brownie Muffins.

 

I love this Hungry Girl recipe because it is simple, easy to prepare, and uses my favorite fall food…pumpkin.  You simply mix 1 box of devil’s food cake mix with 1 15-ounce cane of pumpkin.  Then pour the batter in a muffin pan lined with cupcake paper and bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.  Wait patiently and you will be rewarded with these….

 

 

My second version of healthier brownies was simply a boxed brownie mix with a few simple swaps. Instead of using 2 large eggs and 1/2 cup of oil as the box called for, I used 1 large egg, 1/3 cup of applesauce, and 2 tablespoons of water.  These simple swaps lowered the fat and calories without compromising taste of texture.  My picky 2 year old ate 2 brownies nearly straight out of the oven – so I would call that success!

Hopefully today will be a little less stressful!  I am looking forward to this evening. I will be hosting a 31 Party tonight which means good food, great times with my girlfriends, and shopping!  I am hoping to squeeze in a walk, some light Zumba on the WII or a yoga DVD after the party. My body is feeling 100 times better and is itching to move!  Have a great day!

What do you do after a stressful day at work?  Any healthy baking ideas/recipes you want to share in the comments?

 

Leave a Reply

