Then and Now

If this post goes up as scheduled, you will be reading it on a lovely late summer Saturday morning. While you are reading my words, I will be traveling with my husband and daughter to the vibrant city of Atlanta to engaging in one my favorite pastimes, watching college football at my alma mater Georgia Tech.

In honor of the start of college football season and my return to my old “stomping grounds”, I thought it would be fun to follow Ashley’s lead and blog about my lifestyle in college versus today. Enjoy!

Then I ate tons of processed carbs, overindulged in greasy pizza, and ate more than my fair share of doughnuts during 3 a.m. study session.

Now –  I have learned the art of moderation. I still eat pizza and doughnuts but on rare occasions. I have learned that my body operates better when I fuel it with whole grains, protein, healthy fats, and lots of fruits & veggies.

Then – I could drink a flat (36 cans) of coke in just two days. If I was ever thirsty, coke was my choice for hydration.

Now – I hydrate with water! When I need a caffeine kick I will sip on green tea or coffee. If you see me sipping on a can of coke, I likely have queasy stomach and coke seems to be the only thing to settle it down.

Then – I stayed up too late, got up too early, and functioned on an average of 4-5 hours of sleep a night.

Now – I realize that a good night’s sleep is a crucial component of a healthy lifestyle. I aim to achieve 7-8 hours of sleep a night. Sometimes that means going to bed at 9:00 p.m. but I am more than okay with that.

Then – I  was ashamed of the way that my body looked. I constantly criticized myself thinking –  things in about me that I would never dare say about someone else.

Now – I embrace my body and appreciate it more for what it can do than the way it looks. Those thighs I once thought were “chunky” I now know are strong as they carried me thru a 60  mile 3-day walk, 2 5ks, and hundreds of steps. My body cared for and nurtured my daughter for 9  months – that alone is reason enough to love it. .

Then – I  worked out for hours on end. Hating my time in the gym but seeing it as a way to “get skinny”.

Now – I workout no more than an hour 5-6 times a week. The workouts I do are things that I love to do (running, lifting weights, and aerobics). I see my workouts as a way to get healthier, gain strength, and reduce stress – being skinny does not even factor into the equation.

Then – I abused my body thru an eating disorder.

Now – I realize the damage that my eating disorder did to my body and my mind. I share my story with others to encourage them to seek help and embrace a healthy lifestyle.

Then – I felt anxious about missing a workout due to vacation or family time.

Now – I live in the moment. If I want to workout while on vacation, I do – if not I don’t sweat it.

Then – I was unhappy in my own skin. I was trying to live up to an unrealistic ideal.

Now – I happy, confident, and content with who I am physically, mentally, and spiritually. And I am teaching my daughter than true beauty is more than the number on a scale or the size of her jeans!

What are you then vs. now moments?

Leave a Reply

