Fitmixer Bootcamp: Week One Thoughts

Last Monday, I started the 8 week FitMixer Boot camp program. I had read about the boot camp on a variety of my favorite healthy living blogs, so when the registration for the next round of boot camp opened – I jumped at the chance to sign up.  I knew that I needed to “shake up” my current fitness routine and FitMixer Boot camp seemed like the perfect way to do it.

One week in and I can say that I absolutely LOVE it.  Here are the things that I loving about boot camp so far:

  • The workouts are short – so far the longest workout has only taken me 40 minutes, which means I can do them in the mornings and still have time to shower and get ready for work. By being able to workout in the mornings, my evenings have been freed up so that I can spend more time with my family.
  • The workouts are effective – I spent most of Tuesday and Wednesday evenings stretching, foam rolling, and resting my sore muscles. I am sore in areas that I have NEVER been sore before….it is a testament that my body is being challenged.
  • The workouts only require my body weight – this means I can complete the workouts at home, at the gym, and while traveling.
  • The nutrition plan has opened my eyes to my real eating habits. One of the requirements of the program is that we eat 6 meals a day and track our eating in MyFitnessPal. After just a week of tracking my eating, I can see that a) I am waiting too long between meals (i.e. eating breakfast at 7 a.m. and lunch at 2 p.m. means I am starving and eating too much) b) I often eat out of boredom around 4:00 (watching the clock at work?) and c) I have not been eating enough fruits and veggies.

I plan on posting my thoughts about each week of boot camp on Mondays so check back for more information next week.  And just a disclaimer: I received no compensation from FitMixer for this post. I paid my own fee to join the boot camp and the opinions in this post are all my own.

Leave a Reply

