FitBloggin 2012: Thursday Night

Good morning peeps!  I have so much to tell you about the AMAZING time I had at FitBloggin 2012.  But it is too much to share in a single post, so I am going to be breaking it up into several posts over the next few days.  If you found my blog because of Fitbloggin 2012 – welcome. Be sure to make yourself at home, check out the “Why Redefining Kim Page?”  for more of my story. I hope you will enjoy reading about my perspective on FitBloggin 2012.   Let’s rewind to Thursday afternoon. 

My journey to FitBloggin 2012 actually started on Wednesday afternoon when the hubby, daughter and I loaded up and headed north for the first leg of the 12 hour drive.  We pulled out of our yard at around 6:00 p.m and drove for 4 hours before stopping in Florence, SC for the night.

The next morning we were up at 7:00, enjoyed a quick breakfast at the hotel, and hit the road by 8:00 a.m.  With just 2 pit stops and 3 traffic jams, my wonderful husband got us safely to the Hyatt Regency Baltimore around 3:30 p.m. As we pulled in, I saw the amazing Tina from Carrots & Cake going into the hotel. Yes, I totally geeked out – which was followed by the thought “What am I doing here — I am not that caliber of a blogger.”  When Micheal (the hubs) noticed my hesitant, he told me “You are a blogger – and a good one. Everybody started somewhere.”

He is so smart – that’s why I keep him around. 🙂  So, Micheal, Joycie and I unloaded our truck, checked in, and headed up to our room. After dropping  off our suitcases, we realized we needed to stretch our legs a bit (remember we had been driving/riding for nearly 10 hours, so we took a stroll around the Inner Harbor. About 5:00 p.m., we headed back into the hotel so that I could check at the Fitbloggin table and participate in the evening mixer.

After picking up my swag bag and my new shoes – Thanks Reebok! I headed to the reception room. Over the course of the next two hours, I decorated my badge, mingled with a plethora of bloggers, and nibbled on some fab snacks.  The night ended with an amazing solo performance by Susan Ito a.k.a Foodie McBody. Her performance was MAGNIFICENT!  She shared her journey to health, her introduction to blogging, and her fears/reservations about attending FitBloggin. She ended it by encouraging us to all embrace this experience! I told her afterwards, I felt as though she had tapped into my brain and gave voice to my fears.

After saying goodnight to my fellow attendees, I headed back up to the room where I found Micheal and Joycie eagerly awaiting my return. Since it was his birthday, I let Micheal decide where to eat for supper. He chose UNO’s. We dined on a creamy shrimp/crab fondue and a loaded deep dish pizza. Holy yum!

We ended our night fairly early, as I knew I had to be up at 8:00 a.m. for my very first CrossFit workout. I went to bed with visions of burpees in my head, and a knot of anticipation in my stomach.

One thought on “FitBloggin 2012: Thursday Night

  1. Pingback: 2012 Review, 2013 Resolutions | redefiningkim

Leave a Reply

