FitMixer Bootcamp: Week Two Recap

The first week of Fitmixer Bootcamp was absolutely amazing. Perhaps it was the excitement of starting a new program, the fact that I gave 110% effort on the workouts, or that I was more relaxed than I had been in months – but the first week of the bootcamp brought a 4 pound weight loss.

Then the second week started….and I felt as though I had run head first into a brick wall.  I felt as though I was struggling thru each workout, I couldn’t seem to get my eating in check, and my water consumption was way down for the first half of the week.  But then I headed up to Baltimore for FitBloggin 2012!   As I interacted with a plethora of inspiring people, sharing my story, learning theirs, I was reminded that this is a journey.  And like all good road trips – there will be stretches that are traffic free with beautiful scenery, and other times the road will be full of potholes, and nothing to look at out the window but more cars.

As I sat quietly reflecting during one of the breaks at the conference, I realized that I was trying to push my bodyto do too much, too soon.  If the workout called for 3 to 6 repeats, I was doing 6 even when my body was telling me enough.  No wonder I felt burned out.

 Week 3 started this morning,  and I welcomed it with open arms. My plan is to give 100% effort to the workouts while realizing that my 100% effort may fall short of the recommended guidelines. And that’s okay!  Part of being healthy is honoring my body.

To help get my eating back on track, I spent several hours this morning prepping my breakfast, snacks, and lunches for the week. I filled several water bottles with water, and they are in my fridge just waiting for me to grab. When I finish one, I immediately grab another. Seeing the water bottle in front of me reminds me – HYDRATE, HYDRATE, HYDRATE!

I will happily report – in spite of my lackluster effort during week 2 – the scale stayed the same! And that was with a few extra treats (double chocolate gelato!)

Are any of you doing the Fitmixer Bootcamp?  Did you struggle this week?  How do you handle an off week in your health journey?

One thought on “FitMixer Bootcamp: Week Two Recap

  1. I’m doing the fitmixer bootcamp, and I really love all the support coming from other participants! Buuut… I definitely hit a roadblock this week. I’m having such a hard time with the nutrition plan. On some days it feels like too much, and on others it feels like it’s not enough. My only wish was that it was 12 weeks like the past bootcamps, simply because I feel like I’m not going to hit my stride until week 4. And then it’ll be halfway over!

Leave a Reply

