When Weekend Eating Goes Bad…..

 Dickens once said “It was the best of times and the worst of times.”  His sentiments would accurately describe my weekend. While I had a fantastic time with family and friends – a 5k run, a football game, church services, and an hour long family nap – my eating was beyond horrible and left me feeling physically ill on both Saturday and Sunday.

Saturday morning started with such promise. I participated in a 5K run with my girls then headed to my parents to shower and change so that we could travel to Atlanta to watch my beloved Yellow Jackets play Boston College.  By the time we were on the road, I was STARVING!  I had skipped my usually pre-run fuel, and as a result my stomach was growling loud enough that Joycie commented “Mama, there is a tiger in your tummy.”

When we finally realized that all 3 adults needed breakfast, our only option was a fast food joint.  Many fast food restaurants offer oatmeal, yogurt, or even fruit as part of their breakfast menus, so I headed inside hoping to order something along those lines.  No such luck. My best choice was a platter of 5 silver dollar sized pancakes.  Those alone wouldn’t have been too bad – but they came pre-slathered in butter – a fact that I did not discover until we pulled away.  

I ate the pancakes figuring that I would just get back on track with lunch.  Then my mother offered me a bite of her breakfast – a dish called “Sweet Bites”.  Basically, there were little deep fried doughnut holes…..so yummy…..I wound up eating  5! A stop at the gas station led to me purchasing a king sized candy bar. Then at the game, I ate pizza, more candy, half a bag of popcorn, and a few bites of cookie and chips.   On the return trip, I scarfed down 3 mini-hamburgers and a half order of fries.  By night’s end, my stomach was VERY UNHAPPY! I woke up at 2:00 a.m. feeling physically ill.

Sunday morning came, and I ate my usual breakfast combo of a protein shake, cereal, and an extra glass of milk.  I was feeling guilty about my poor choices and seeming lack of control on Saturday. However, I told myself that it was a new day and that I would make the best of it.  Then I remembered that we were going to be attending services at my sister-in-law’s childhood church, and enjoying a pot luck lunch afterwards.  Realizing that this could be potentially hazardous to my clean eating efforts, I formulated a game plan. I would choice a 4 ounce piece of protein (ham, chicken, roast), then load up my plate with veggies, and totally by pass the dessert.  A great plan – but not plan works if you fail to utilize it.

At the pot luck lunch, I did get my piece of chicken, a serving of green beans, some broccoli, and then I saw the sweet potato casserole. The voice in my head told me that a little scoop wouldn’t hurt.  Can you see where this is headed?  I ate the scoop, then a 2nd serving, and then felt compelled to eat the cake that my daughter  had asked for but only eaten the frosting off of.

Another day, another upset stomach!

The scale showed my lack of control this morning. I was up a pound. 

 I could choose to wallow in self-pity, beat myself up, and feel bad all day long.  But that’s pointless!  Instead, I am choosing to figure out why led to this behavior and what I can do differently this week.

  1. Drink water, water, water – Looking back over the entire weekend, I realized that I only drank 20 ounces of water.  My body was dehydrated and likely masked the dehydration as hunger.
  2. Do not skip pre-run fuel! – I felt as though I was starving all day on Saturday.   While a large part of this is due to #1, I also think that failing to fuel properly before my physical activity caused my body to seek extra calories, as it was unsure of when the next meal would be.
  3. Skip the sweets…at least to start – If I had not placed the sweet potato casserole on my plate in the beginning, I would likely not have gotten back up from my seat to get it later. I know that if I eat protein and veggies first and then wait a few minutes, I tend not want to eat sweets later.
  4. It is not my job to clean my daughter’s plate – Yes, it is likely wasteful to throw away a perfectly good piece of cake, simply because my daughter does not want it.  But I would prefer to be wasteful, than to harm my body by eating unnecessary sugar!
  5. Speaking of sugar….avoid it – Some people can consume sugary foods without problem. Not me.  If I have a bite of something sweet, that triggers a craving for more and more sweet things. So today start’s my sugar detox – simply put no candy bars, no sugar in my morning coffee, no processed foods with more than 5 grams of sugar.

How do you get back on track after overindulging?  Any tips for avoiding food binges?

Leave a Reply

