A Week of No Workouts

Last week, I did not work out a single time. No evening runs, no early morning yoga sessions, no lunchtime walks….nothing, nada, zilch.

The week of no workouts was unplanned.  Last week our church held its annual fall revival which meant my days looked like this:

5:00 a.m.: Wake up, make coffee, get hubby out the door to his office

5:45 – 6:15 a.m.:  Shower, dress, eat breakfast, put on makeup, pack lunch, and load up car

6:15 – 7:00 a.m.:  Wake up daughter, dress her, give her medicine and breakfast, drop her off at sister-in-law’s

7:00-7:30 a.m.: Commute to work

7:30 – 5:00 p.m. – Work with an hour for lunch. Spend lunch hour eating in the car while driving to and from errands.

5:00-5:30 p.m. – Commute home

5:30 – 6:45 p.m. – Arrive home, freshen up, eat something, get hubby and daughter ready for church, head out the door

6:45-9:15 p.m. – Revival

9:15-10:15 p.m. – Return home, unwind, and prepare for next day, crash into bed.

Monday I had ever intention of squeezing in a workout either before revival or afterwards. But Monday evening came, and I was extremely tired and opted not to workout.  By Tuesday evening, I realized that I would be doing more harm than good if I tried to add in workouts to an already jammed scheduled.  So I didn’t work out AT ALL.

And guess what happened?

Nothing. Nope, the world did not stop spinning, I did not gain a ton of weight, and the clothes in my closet did not stop fitting in just 7 days.  If anything, I feel stronger now, eager to get back into training.  Given how much better my body feels with the rest, I am adding in 1 full rest day each week to my training schedule. Here’s what’s on tap for this week:

Monday: 60 min jog

Tuesday: Lower Body Weight Session

Wednesday: 30 mins HIIT jump roping

Thursday: 60 min jog

Friday: Upper Body Weight Session

Saturday: 5K Run

Sunday: Total Rest Day!

Have you ever taken an entire week off from working out?

Leave a Reply

