National Health Blog Post Month: Day 2 – Quotes that Move Me

Yesterday afternoon, I spent a few hours catching up on the 100 or so posts in my Google reader. The post that jumped out at me the most was this one from the ever inspiring Foodie McBody (link goes here).   I loved reading about the reasons and motivations beyond her choice to blog about her health.  Feeling inspired, I decided that I would join in the fun and sign up for the WeGo Health Thirty-blogs-in-thirty days challenge.

Today is Day 2, and I chose to use the prompt “Find a quote and use it as inspiration.”  For years, I have kept a hard backed black journal that contains nothing but quotes – quotes that make me laugh, quotes that make me cry, quotes that make me think, and quotes that inspire me.  I thought it would be fun for me to page thru that journal, pull out a few of my favorite and share them with you.

The first quote is one that I found a few days after I started therapy for my eating disordered. I remember feeling scared, unsure of myself, fearful, and worried that I would never get better.  At the time, the journey to health seemed like a mountain looming in front of me, and I was not certain I had the strength or drive to climb them mountain.  Then I read these words..

“Courage doesn’t always roar.  Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, I will try again tomorrow.”

Those words would become my mantra over the next two years. As I learned to love myself, to accept my body at any weight, and to realize that I did not need to abuse myself thru bingeing and purging. On the days when the negative thoughts were winning, I would remind myself “Try again tomorrow.”  I kept trying, trying, trying, and now I am celebrating 5+ years of ED free living!

When I moved past my eating disorder, I shifted my focus onto living a balanced, active lifestyle. It was then that I fell in love with running, and began to fill up the pages of my journal with running quotes.

Quotes for Good Run Days:

“Remember the feeling you get from a good run is far better than the feeling you get from sitting around wishing you were running” ~ Sarah Condor

Quotes for the Bad Run Days:

“Relish the bad training runs. Without them it’s difficult to recognize, much less appreciate, the good ones.” ~Pat Teske

My running group has even developed it’s own set of quotes – that we shout out to each other when running. This include:

“Don’t be pretty.” – This is code for quit slacking and pick up the pace!

“You just lapped another couch potato!”  – A quote we use to encourage someone who is struggling during a workout. It reminds them that even struggling they are doing more than those who choose not even to try.

And my personal all-time favorite:

“We run because we can.” – Lots of people in our small town stop us during runs to ask us why we subject our bodies to such an activity. Our answer is always the same, because we can.  We realize that there are people all over this world who would LOVE to run, but can’t.  So when we lace up our sneakers, we are running to honor our bodies and to honor them.

Do you use quotes as motivation for healthy living? Feel free to share your favorite quotes in the comments.  Interested in joining the Challenge, then click here.

Leave a Reply

