Celebrate the Small Victories

Weight loss is HARD.  And no matter the amount you have to lose it can be a frustratingly slooooooooooow process.  Given these facts, it is often easy to say “Screw it” and go scarf down a bag of Doritos.

But then you just feel guilty.

So what do you do?  How do you keep yourself motivated as you move thru your journey?

For me, the one thing that has kept my motivation (and sanity) has been to celebrate the small victories.  Take this week for example, I was able to shave a whole minute off my mile time, managed to stay under my recommended sugar and sodium levels for 4 days, and walk 3 miles every.single.day.

I have no idea if those actions will translate  into a loss on the scale. But even if it doesn’t, I know I have made myself healthier. And that excites me, and has me wanting to keep going. Life just like weight loss is not an end-point destination, even if I make it to my goal weight tomorrow, I still have (hopefully) many, many, many years ahead of me. So I need to focus on those things that improve my health and trust that in time the weight loss will come.

What small victories can you celebrate this week?

 

One thought on “Celebrate the Small Victories

Leave a Reply

