Weekly Workouts: 2/18 Thru 2/24/13

Good morning everyone! It’s a chilly, windy Sunday morning here in South Georgia. For the first time all winter, the temps have dipped below 30 degrees. And I’m loving it – until it’s time to go for a run. My wardrobe is seriously lacking in cold weather running gear. But a gift certificate from the hubby for Valentine’s day is going to remedy that situation very soon. 🙂

I am in the final two weeks of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp and I can’t say enough good things about the progress I’ve seen in my weight, my muscle tone, and overall strength. I seriously considering signing up for Round 5 but my spring training schedule is taking a different track.

Last week, the group of girls that I run with and I had a really long discussion on where we saw our running going. And we all decided that we want to run a half-marathon….and the run we want to run is the 2014 Disney Princess Half Marathon. So they nominated me as the point person to find a plan that would take us from running 5K’s to Half-marathons without totally beating our bodies to death. A quick check of Rundisney.com and I had Jeff Galloway’s Training Plan in hand.

We took the plan for it’s first spin this week and loved it. We finished 3 runs in good time AND – most importantly felt strong. To supplement our training, we are adding in a weekly aerobics class that will have elements of yoga, strength, and core work mixed in.

With all that being said, here’s what my workout schedule looks like this week:

Weekly Workouts 21813

Your turn: Tell me what workouts you are looking forward to this week.  Are you training for any races or events?

3 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts: 2/18 Thru 2/24/13

  1. I am training for the Bayshore Half in Traverse City, MI on May 25. I am using a Smart Coach plan off of the Runners World web site because I have specific pace times that I am shooting for. I am looking forward to Saturday’s long run because I hoping to get to do it outside and not on the treadmill :). I’m excited for you and your adventures in half marathon training….that Disney race is on my bucket list of races to do someday so I’m totally jealous

Leave a Reply

