Workout It Out Wednesday: Best Body Bootcamp Week 6 and a DVD Review

I have entered the final phase of Round 4 of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. I have to marvel at how quickly the time has gone. I would credit that to the fact that Tina changes up the workouts every two weeks which drastically reduced the chance of boredom or burnout.

For Week 6 the suggested schedule was as follows:

  Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6
Cardio 20 min quick steady state Cardio Intervals Optional 20-30 Moderate Cardio Cardio Intervals 20 min quick steady state Optional Cardio Day
Strength Strength A Core Strength B Core Strength C  

 Not only is Tina big on changing up the workouts, she stresses that we should be flexible and make the workouts work for us.  So instead of doing the cardio workouts that Tina suggested in her plan, I either ran or a did a new to me workout DVD, Burlesque Jazzercise.

The Burlesque Jazzercise DVD was an impulse by a few weeks ago when I was browsing the fitness aisles at my local Walmart.  I never took dance as a child – but have fallen in love with it as an adult (evidenced by the dozens of dance workout dvd’s I own).  Moreover, one of my favorite bloggers, http://pbfingers.comis always raving about Jazzercise so I decided to buy it.

I took the DVD for it’s first spin last Monday.  The warm-up started out slowly…according to my Bodybugg I was only burning 2 calories per minute.  The workout was supposed to be just 20 minutes which left me wondering if I would get a decent calorie burn or not.  But then the instructor (Shanna) started into the heart of the workout. And my own heart rate jumped up!

The choreography is pretty simple – hip wiggles, sexy walks, twists, etc. – nothing that would really require a dance background. I will say the pace is fast, so you might want to watch the DVD a few times to really get comfortable with the steps.  For me, I ended up burning roughly 130 calories in 20 minutes which was a great burn!

The only negative I have to say about this DVD is that there is no true cooldown or stretching post workout.  I had to do those on my own.  But aside from that, I was quite happy with this workout. In fact, I am considering purchasing a few more Jazzercise DVD’s to add to my collection.

Your turn:  Have you ever tried Jazzercise?  Do you own any dance type workout DVD’s?

Leave a Reply

