Everybody Knows Somebody: #NEDAwareness Week

If you have read my blog for any length of time, you know that I have been open and honesty about my nearly 5 year battle with bulimia.  Those 5 years were literally hell – as I hated my body, subjected it to constant abuse, and wrecked my health all in the pursuit of an unrealistic ideal of thinness.

Thankfully, I had an amazing friend who reached out to me and encouraged me to find help.  I owe her a debt of gratitude. So each year, I pay it forward by telling others about my battle, and the battle of nearly 20 million women and 10 million men in the USA.  

 National Eating Disorders Awareness Week is February 24-March 2. NEDAwareness Week is a collective effort of volunteers, including eating disorder professionals, health care providers, students, educators, social workers, organizations and individuals committed to raising awareness of eating disorders.  The impact of increased outreach efforts leads to a greater chance of people seeking out resources and help for an eating disorder, which ultimately saves lives.

NEDA is asking that everyone do just one thing to raise awareness and provide accurate information about eating disorder. For me, that means blogging. But there is a plethora of ways to get involved: Distribute info pamphlets and put up posters, post information on Facebook, and many more ideas.

I am asking each of you to take a few minutes and visit the NEDA website and find the way that you can join in the fight to raise awareness and bring an end to eating disorders. If you think a friend/family member/coworker is struggling with an eating disorder, guide them to the new screening tool.

Whatever you choose do, DON’T REMAIN SILENT AND DO NOTHING.  Eating disorders are shrouded in secrecy, shame, and silence. Let’s raise our voices to bring help and hope…and someday an END to eating disorders!

Leave a Reply

