Pregnancy Recap – 13 Weeks

Good morning everyone!  As of yesterday, I am officially 13 weeks pregnant.  This means (according to some sources) I am now in the 2nd trimester of pregnancy.  This trimester is often referred to as the honeymoon phase of pregnnacy – as morning sickness and fatigue tend to lessen, and the pregnancy “glow” appears.

During my first pregnancy, I started taking bump pics and writing weekly up dates at 7 weeks. However, given my scare at 8 weeks, I opted to wait until we were out of the first trimester when the risk of miscarriage significantly decreases.  Now, I promise this space is not going to turn into a pregnancy blog, but I will be sharing weekly updates of how I am feeling, what’s happening with Pumpkin (the baby’s nickname), etc

Bump Pics

13 weeks

What’s Happening with Pumpkin

  • Fingerprints have formed on Peanut’s tiny fingers.
  • The organs and veins can be seen through the still thin skin.
  • Peanut is almost 3 inches long and weighs nearly an ounce

What’s Happening with Mama?

  • Total weight gain/loss: 13 pounds
  • Maternity clothes?  Yes, at least maternity tops.  My bust line is much bigger this pregnancy which means all of my normal tops are too tight. I can still wear my pre-pregnancy jeans, skirts, and a few pairs of dress pants.
  • Workouts:  Lots of walking (aiming for at least 30 minutes a day) and the Physique 57 DVDs!
  • Best moment this week: Hearing the baby’s heartbeat at the doctor! Peanut’s heartbeat was strong, steady, and averaging 150 beats per minute.
  • Food cravings: Cereal and milk – particularly Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter.  I have been having a small bowl with almond milk as an evening snack.
  • Belly button in or out? In.
  • What I miss: My stamina – everything takes longer now because I seem to tire easily. At least it is a good excuse for taking naps on the weekend.

So that’s what is happening this week.  Now it’s time for a workout, followed by grocery shopping! It’s shaping up to be a busy Saturday in the Lee household.

Your turn – What are you doing on this chilly Saturday?

One thought on “Pregnancy Recap – 13 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meals and Moves – 1/6 thru 1/12/14 | redefiningkim

Leave a Reply

