My Theme word for 2014

I’ve always been a resolution kinda of girl. The start of a New Year would spark me to make lists of things I wanted to achieve in the new year. Last year, I blogged about how I had 5 main resolutions and how each month I would translate those resolutions into action steps.

And for a while it worked.

But then life got busy.

And I got complacent, comfortable, content…

So I stopped working on my resolutions.

This year, I am taking a different approach.
Instead of making resolutions, I am choosing an overall theme word for the year. This word will serve as  a guide of my actions/decisions/choices in next 12 months.
My word is

UNCOMFORTABLE

Not exactly warm and fuzzy is it?

Let me explain why I chose this word. As I mentioned earlier, I grew comfortable last year – comfortable with the extra weight I was carrying, comfortable with just doing the bare minimum in workouts, comfortable in making less than healthy food choices, comfortable in having my faith be nothing more than church a few times a week and some mumbled prayers before I went to bed.

And at the end of 2013, what did comfortable get me? 

Not much – extra weight, elevated cholesterol, eating too much fast food, and the feeling that my faith was dying.
So this year, I want to be uncomfortable.

Choosing to workout, rather than veg on the couch will likely make me uncomfortable. But the workout does me worlds of good.

Spending time in the kitchen on the weekends prepping healthy meals is time consuming, and uncomfortable – but SO MUCH better for my health (and my wallet).

Getting up an extra 30 minutes early start my morning with prayer and Bible study – yeah, really uncomfortable.  However, the peace that accompanies is far greater than the comfort of my warm bed.

And those are just a few of the ideas I have.
I’m sure as the year progresses, I will be presented with more opportunities to be uncomfortable and I welcome those.

So there is my word for 2014! Do you have a word for 2014? I would love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

